Budget Friendly Makeup, Makeup, Review

Nyx Total Control Cover Drops Review

Nyx TOtal Control Cover Drops

So I’ve had this foundation for a while now and I initially loved it because it was the only cruelty free drugstore foundation I could find (at the time) that matched my skin. I am very pale therfore it is extremely difficult to find products that are even close to my shade, not even taking into consideration my undertone.

So when I found this I was excited to find a foundation that was even close to my skin color. Being cruelty free, pale, and a broke girl, it’s hard to find something that is good quality, cheap, and cruelty free.

First thing’s first the Nyx Total Control Cover Drops only come with .43 Fl. Oz. This isn’t very much in comparison to other liquid foundations, especially for the price. Both the Wet n Wild Photofocus Foundation ($5.99) and Models Own Runway Foundation ($11.99) both have 1.0 Fl. Oz. Even The E.L.F Flawless Finish Foundation ($6.00) is less than half the price and comes with .63 Fl. Oz.

Plus you have to use a lot more product than it advertises to get coverage. This foundation goes by fast.

I will say that if you really struggle with your foundation shade, it comes in 24 different shades. Although I believe there should be even more, this is pretty great in comparison to most drugstore foundations.

Here is some shade comparisons to other foundations I own:

Foundation Swatches
Shades from TOP RIGHT to BOTTOM LEFT: Nyx Total Control Cover Drops in Porcelain, Wet N Wild Photofocus Foundation in Rose Ivory, Nyx Mineral Stick Foundation in Porcelain, E.L.F Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain, and the Models Own Runway Foundation in Fair.
Now as for the packaging, it’s awful.

It is so awful I wouldn’t be buying this product again just because of that. The dropper is awful and drops the product everywhere. It gets all over my shirt and counter everytime I use it. No matter what. I could be over the sink, dropping this product on my hand and it will somehow get on my clothes.

Ugh

Not just the dropper is awful but because the top is a screw off and the product is super runny, if you bump it, no matter how much of a ninja you are, you lose a ton of product.

Nyx Total Control Custom Cover Drops Applied
This is how the foundation looks on skin once applied. I forgot to do a wear test picture but it lasts all day.
As for the formula, it’s fine. Nothing special.

I will say it is light to medium, not sheer to full as NYX claims. You get a nice “your skin but better” look.

I will say the finish is very smooth and demi-matte which is nice for combination skin. It is also pretty transfer proof, I set it for extra protection but if you have dry skin you can go without it.

In the end, I will not be buying this again for both the terrible packaging and the price. If this was a few dollars it would be worth it to me, but it’s not a great enough formula to make up for the cost and the mess. If you really have trouble finding semi-affordable products in your shade, I would check it out, but otherwise I would look elsewhere.

If you want to buy this you can find it here.

Do you like review posts? If so like this post. If there is a specific product you would like me to review please comment with the name of the product down below! Thank you for reading!

~Have Fun Cosmetic Unicorns~

1 thought on “Nyx Total Control Cover Drops Review”

Leave a Reply

