Hauls

Ulta Haul and First Impressions ~ Drugstore and Cruelty Free

IMG_1400

Last Saturday I had the opportunity to go with my friends to Ulta. I love Ulta but it’s so far away that going there is a really big deal for me. Thankfully my friends asked me if I could go to Ulta with them so I could help them pick out makeup.

Of course I said yes!

I’m so glad I did. Not only did I get to feel super good that I was able to help my friends find the perfect makeup for them, but I also got a lot of really cool products. I am so excited about everything I bought. It’s either stuff I needed or stuff I’ve been wanting for a long time.

All of the items I got from Ulta are both budget friendly and cruelty free. I am super proud of myself for only getting drugstore makeup because usually I leave with at least one high end product (since I don’t get to go often I often buy a ton of stuff while I’m there).

I did get some high end free samples that I will share with you, but considering they were free I thought they might be available at your local Ulta and you can save some money.

Models Own Runway Matte Foundation (1.0 Fl. Oz. $11.99)

I was super excited to get this foundation! I’ve been wanting a matte and full coverage foundation for really bad skin days and those days where I need to wear foundation for a significant amount of time. I’ve just recently started wearing liquid and cream foundations about 8 months ago, so I’ve never tried a matte foundation in liquid form.

All the foundations I have worn are light to medium coverage so having the option to cover up everything will be nice for my more full glam looks. My friend got this too and they have a heavy amount of freckles and acne yet this was able to cover almost all of it, so I’m super excited!

First Impression:

As first impressions go, I love this foundation. It looks absolutely beautiful on the skin. It lasted a very long time but it does need to be set. It’s super matte but like a lot of foundations, if it’s not set it will rub off onto anything your face touches. But it did last about 8 hours without much breakup! It worked way better than I was expecting on my combination skin.

I love how full coverage this is. It covered everything but my super heavy discoloration. And since I’m so pale and it is hard to find foundation colors, it is amazing that this is light enough to match! It does have a very limited shade range at Ulta though. What shades they do have are super far apart so you might have to buy two colors to get your right shade.

IMG_1412

Nyx Full Coverage Conealer (.25 Oz. $4.99)

I’ve been wanting to try this concealer for a ridiculously long time. I thought this was way more expensive than it was and then when I checked Ulta.com I just knew I had to finally take the opportunity to buy it. While just checking this on my hand it felt super lightweight yet is able to cover more stubborn blemishes.

First Impressions:

I forgot to take a picture of me putting this on but I think that’s a good thing. This foundation and concealer just did not like to mix. It took a long time to blend this out but it ended up working. It is very full coverage though. It was able to cover up the color of my lips completely.

So far I feel as though I really need to test this out before I make a full decision.

Nyx Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Stone Fox (.13 Fl. Oz. $6.99)

I’ve been wanting to try this lipstick formula ever since I watched Boldly’s Women Try Drugstore Vs. Luxury Makeup video. I’ve been wanting to wear darker liquid lip colors but most of them tend to be very patchy. I hate when lip colors are streaky even if I’m able to fix it. I’m just worried it looks bad all day.

First Impression:

I tried this on and it was amazing! This a beautiful cold gray and looks super nice on the lips. It does appear a touch teal in certain lighting which I think looks cool. The first time I wore this a stranger commented me on my lip color. That’s pretty amazing! This does not feel uncomfortable on the lips, is super pigmented and lasts a while. Out of just my first impression I would definetely go out and buy this formula again.

Keep in mind this is not kiss proof though. Sorry to those who love to kiss people! Although it is not transfer proof, I was still able to eat food and drink a lot of water and when I looked at my lips I did not have butthole lip! This liquid lip is amazing!

Essence Instant Matt Make-Up Setting Spray (1.69 Fl. Oz. $4.99)

I’ve just been wanting to try out different cheap setting sprays. I’ve heard a lot of people saying that it is difficult to find a truly broke-person-friendly setting spray. I thought I would try this out to see if I could recommend a super cheap setting spray to you guys.

This is something I will have to test out for a couple weeks to know the true difference so when I feel I’m ready, I will definetely do a haul update so you guys can know my final feelings about each of these products. But the sprayer is really nice, it doesn’t feel like a cannon on your face.

IMG_1407

Essence Superfine Waterproof Eyeliner Pen (.03 Fl. Oz. $2.99)

I’ve bought this eyeliner probably about six or seven times already. I know I already love this eyeliner. Yet, this eyeliner is not perfect. It is super cheap and doesn’t smudge but it is also not actually waterproof. My eyes water a lot and if I lay on my side it can remove my eyeliner.

The second problem I have with it is that it dries out super easily, but since it’s so cheap it’s not a super big problem. If you like a ton of control this is not the eyeliner for you, since the felt tip is so long it can be difficult to get super precise. I personally love the shape.

Through all these things it’s my favorite eyeliner. It is super cheap, creates the perfect wing (for me), and is super dark. I don’t think I could ever hate this formula paired with the price and felt tip.

Essence Dip Eyeliner (.13 Fl. Oz. $2.99)

I was watching Tati Westbrook’s video on Essence products and she suggested this Essence dip eyeliner. I already love The Essence Superfine Waterproof Eyeliner Pen so I was more than happy to try a new eyeliner from the brand.

The tip of this eyeliner is nearly perfect just from testing it out on my hand. It’s thin but short enough it seems you will be able to have lots of control. I truly believe I will be able to create the perfect wing with this. When testing this on my hand I was happy to see that it didnt not bleed out or smudge.

First Impression:

I like this eyeliner, but it is not yet amazing for me. I think I just need to get used to the brush and then I will love it. It is nice and matte but I see that it is really difficult to control now that I’ve used it on the eyes.

Sample Urban Decay Optical Illusion Complexion Primer (.16 Fl. Oz. Free)

I’ve heard of this primer but I haven’t heard much about this primer. When the Ulta Cashier asked me if I would like a sample I was more than happy to say yes. I love testing out products without knowing much about them. it gives me a more fresh perspective so I’ll make sure to tell you guys what I think.

Let me just say that this has fantastic packaging for a sample product. It has an actual pump. It really makes me appreciate the length Urban Decay goes to please their customers.

First Impressions:

I like this product. It reminds me a lot of the Benefit Porefessional but Cruelty Free! Unlike the Porefessional it feels comfortable and not like silicone. I believe this is perfect for the T-Zone as it fills in my pores well. If it is like this everytime, I’m looking at buying the full size.

Sample Becca First Light Priming Filter (.2 Fl. Oz. Free)

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this product, yet I can’t remember exactly what people have been saying. I just know a lot of people enjoy this primer so I’m glad I get to see whether it’s worth the money. I wasn’t going to buy this since I haven’t heard any strong recommendations so Becca was smart to put out these samples. They will probably get a lot of new customer’s.

First Impressions:

I don’t like this primer. It did nothing for my skin. I did not see any difference at all. Plus my foundation didn’t stay any longer but actually wore away faster. Am I missing something? If you’ve used this, tell me your thoughts below. I’ve heard so many good things that I want to like it.

Honestly I am so happy with this haul. I don’t feel like anything I bought was bad per se. I truly believe that these will be good products but I will have to test them for a couple weeks. I will be doing a haul update when I feel as though I’ve used the products enough to give full review on them.

Would you like to see a haul update? Do you like to go to Ulta? Is there anything you are excited to hear about? If you liked this post please tell me by liking it and commenting down below! If you believe someone you know would enjoy this, feel free to share it with them!

Here is some great news! If you want sneak peeks for the blog or just to see what I’m doing, I started an Instagram specifically for you guys! Check it out here.

~Have Fun Cosmetic Unicorns~

Leave a Reply

